Something’s coming. Something’s nearly here…

MIRRORLAND

Twelve years ago my life began again.

But it was a lie.

With the startling twists of Gone Girl and the haunting emotional power of Room, Mirrorland is the story of twin sisters, the man they both love, and the dark childhood they can’t leave behind.

Cat lives in Los Angeles, about as far away as she can get from her estranged twin sister El and No. 36 Westeryk Road, the imposing gothic house in Edinburgh where they grew up. As girls, they invented Mirrorland, a dark, imaginary place under the pantry stairs full of pirates, witches, and clowns. These days Cat rarely thinks about their childhood home, or the fact that El now lives there with her husband Ross.

But when El mysteriously disappears after going out on her sailboat, Cat is forced to return to the grand old house, which has scarcely changed in twenty years. No. 36 Westeryk Road is still full of shadowy, hidden corners, and at every turn Cat finds herself stumbling on long-held secrets and terrifying ghosts from the past. Because someone—El?—has left Cat clues all over the house: a treasure hunt that leads right back to Mirrorland, where she knows the truth lies crouched and waiting…

A sharply crafted mystery about love and betrayal, redemption and revenge, Mirrorland is a propulsive, page-turning debut about the power of imagination and the price of freedom. Perfect for fans of Gillian Flynn, Ruth Ware, and Daphne du Maurier.

REVIEWS

Mirrorland is an intricate, brilliant puzzle of a novel, where past and present, fantasy and reality, are all clues that one twin must decipher to discover the fate of her missing sister and the secrets of their shared past.
It’s Gone Girl meets Rebecca if Henry James had written it; atmospheric, tightly plotted and utterly gripping, a must read for fans of Ruth Ware and Gillian Flynn.”

SARAH PINBOROUGH:
#1 Sunday Times Best-selling Author of Behind her Eyes 

“A dark and twisty thriller told with thumping heart and extraordinary tenderness. Mirrorland is as much a celebration of imagination and its escapsim as an examination of trauma and its echoes.” 

KIRAN  MILLWOOD HARGRAVE
BEST-SELLING AUTHOR OF THE MERCIES

Mirrorland feels a bit like a roller coaster ride….As pieces of Cat’s past unfolded in her psyche, the breath was knocked out of me again and again. Not just a novel, Mirrorland is an experience that can’t be easily summarized—emotionally turbulent, chaotically charged, and downright astonishing.”

ANDREW KING
University Book Store, Seattle, WA

“Carole Johnstone’s debut feels like the love child of Gillian Flynn and Stephen King. In Mirrorland nothing is at it appears and the kaleidoscope twists and turns will have you frantically turning the pages until  you reach the gasp-out-loud ending.”

Greer Hendricks
#1 New York Times Best-selling co-author of
The Wife Between Us

“Past and present collide in this vivid, ingenious, and totally absorbing thriller. Mirrorland is an amzing debut.”

T.M. LOGAN
BEST-SELLING AUTHOR OF THE HOLIDAY AND THE CATCH

“Why do people get ‘lost’ in books? Reading Mirrorland by Carole Johnstone shows you why: to disappear into a world of suspense, carefully paced to create the maximum stress; to thrill in speculation of an ending that no one can see coming; and to simply enjoy the satisfaction of turning the last page of an excellent book.”

NANCY SIMPSON-BRICE
Book Vault, Oskaloosa, IA

“Watch out for this one. Just when you think you have it figured out, you don’t. Call the masseuse and schedule an appointment before you start reading this book. The twists will leave your neck hurting!!”

MARYA JOHNSTON
OUT WEST BOOKS, GRAND JUNCTION, CO

WHO

Mirror Twins are literally mirror reflections of each other, sometimes even having the same dreams or thoughts or emotions. Some describe it as having one brain in two bodies. Others claim a telepathy that extends to physically feeling pain when the other is hurt.

WHERE

36 Westeryk Road. The crumbling, creepy old house in Mirrorland is haunted by all that has happened inside its crimson red walls, because it symbolises something that must be confronted, a history that cannot be escaped.
It’s also a real place…

WHAT

Whether classic or contemporary, Charlotte Bronte’s Jane Eyre or Gillian Flynn’s Sharp Objects, a good gothic thriller is always full of passion and mystery; love and revenge; and enough surprises, twists, and turns to keep you up into the wee hours!

Read now on any device